Cyprus Starter Kit 2008

Obverse of Cyprus Starter Kit 2008
Details The Cypriot Starter Kit was issued on 3 December 2007, priced at CYP 10. It contains 47 coins:
Coin included in the Cypriot Starter Kit: 7 x 1 cent, 6 x 2 cents, 6 x 5 cents, 5 x 10 cents, 8 x 20 cents, 7 x 50 cents, 5 x 1 euro, 3 x 2 euros

Cyprus together with Malta joined the eurozone on 1 January 2008. According to the Eurobarometer survey, more than 70% of the citizens who had bought a mini-kit opened it and used the coins after the changeover while some 20% kept it untouched. As from the changeover, the unsold mini-kits have been exported to satisfy the demand of coin collectors abroad.

The Cypriot euro coins bear the name Cyprus written in both Greek and Latin alphabets, representing the two national languages of Greek and Turkish. The 1 cent, 2 cent and 5 cent coins picture the Mouflon, the most characteristic species of fauna in Cyprus. The 10 cent, 20 cent and 50 cent coins picture the Kyrenia ship of 4th Century B.C. and the €1 and €2 coins picture the Idol of Pomos.
Mintage 250,000 pieces
Issue price 17.09 euros

To return to the previous page, please hit the Back button on your browser or click here