Monetary System


Circulating Coins
1 Frank = 100 centimes

Head of Saint Michael for Brussels

Mintmasters mark:
  • G.Lamquet : Head of a lamb (1960-67)
  • R. Vogeleer : Phenix with V (1967-80)
  • R. Coenen : Balance (1980 - now)
Centimes: 50 / Frank(s): 1, 5, 20, 50
On January 1, 1999, the European Monetary Union introduced the euro as a common currency to be used by the financial institutions of member countries; Three years later, on 1 January 2002, the euro became the sole currency for everyday transactions with the member countries

Belgium became independent from the Netherlands in 1830 and was occupied by Germany during World Wars I and II. It has prospered in the past half century as a modern, technologically advanced European state and member of NATO and the EU. Tensions between the Dutch-speaking Flemings of the north and the French-speaking Walloons of the south have led in recent years to constitutional amendments granting these regions formal recognition and autonomy.

Borders France 620 km, Germany 167 km, Luxembourg 148 km, Netherlands 450 km
Economy Population: 10,348,276 (July 2004 est.)
GDP per capita: $ 28903.36

The Royal Belgian Mint strikes all official coins, also called change. In 1969 the Mint was renamed Royal Belgian Mint, a denomination that suits the institution better given that coinage is a royal prerogative. The coins are distributed by the National Bank of Belgium.