Isle of Man

Monetary System


Privy Marks

Circulating Coins
1 pound sterling = 100 pence

PM = Pobjoy Mint Sutton, England, 1971 to date

Various privy marks appear on special gold coins
A = A.N.A. Convention, Orland
Water Tower = Chicago Intl. Coin Fair

Penny (pence): 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 / Pound(s): 1, 2, 5

The Isle of Man is a self-governing dependency of the British Crown which has had its own parliament, the Tynwald, for more than a thousand years. In 979 the Vikings who ruled the island set up their own council of freemen on Tynwald hill, and the House of Keys still meets there once each year.

From 1406 to 1765 the island was owned by the Earls of Derby and their kin, the Dukes of Atholl. The last duke sold the Isle of Man to the King of England, George III, in 1765 and the British monarchs have been lords of Man ever since. There is no provision for a female title, so Queen Elisabeth is Lord (not Lady) of Man.

The Isle of Man has had its own coinage intermittently since 1709, the first issue of the Earl of Derby, until the final issue of Queen Victoria in 1839. The Royal Mint struck a Crown (25 pence) for I.O.M. in 1970.

Coinage from 1971 on has been continuous and is struck by Britain's Pobjoy Mint. In addition to nine circulating denominations, commemorative coins and bullion coins are issued and sold around the world. Among the I.O.M.'s famed special issues are the Penny Black, the Cat, the Angel, the Nobie and the A.N.A. Centenary Crown.

Special nine-coins Mint Sets in colorful card holders suitable for children and novice collectors are issued its year using mint-fresh coins, and sold at a modest advance over their face value.

For further information, contact Pobjoy Mint Ltd., P.O. Box 13826, Milwaukee, WI 53213. Telephone 414-873-6772, Fax 414-873-6422.