Monetary System


Circulating Coins
10 fen (cents) = 1 jiao, 10 jiao = 1 renminbi yuan

s - Shanghai, y - Shengyang

Fen: 1, 2, 5 / Jiao: 1, 2, 5 / Yuan: 1

Chinese circulating currency is issued by the People's Bank of China and minted or printed by the Printing and Minting Bureau of the People's Bank.

When the Red Army reunified and stabilized China in 1949, there were no coins in use. The designing and minting of Chinese circulating coins began in the early 1950s. Today, six patterns of metal subsidiary coins and one pattern of main coins have been struck and issued. They all have the same design, with the denomination in a wreath encircling the Tianamen Gate and five stars above the name of the People's Republic of China.

Since an issue in 1979 of collectors' coins to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the People's Republic, the China Mint Company has remained a prolific issuer of commemorative coins. The most recent of these commemorative coins is the famous Panda series, which depict these distinctive animals in different designs each year.

Collection of 10 coins (48Kb).

For further information, contact the People's Bank of China, People's Bank of China Building, San Li He, Fu Xing Men Wai, Xi Cheng Qu, Beijing, China.